Welcome to my blog!

Check out my page on Wicking Beds.

Photobucket

  1. #1 by dino on May 15, 2012 - 11:18 pm

    looks pretty nice I finished a similar size yesterday and I was wondering if I could use fish pond water in the wicking bed.

  2. #2 by dino on May 15, 2012 - 11:36 pm

    I am really happy to find this forum there is not much info on wicking beds. I found a few videos and a few web pages but no info on using aquaponic water or fish pond water.

    I hope some one can answer a few of my questions I am currently building a 3×10 wicking bed in DC.

    1. I have a koi fish pond with a UV light the water is crystal clear. Do you think I could just pour this water into the wicking reservoir and that woudl be enough fertilizer for the plants? wont the Fish emulsion sink and sit at the bottom and not fertilize the plant roots?

    2. What is the best growing medium? chris you say 100% coir?

    3. does anyone have any other Soil Recipes for wicking beds, I read that it should be 50% sand?

    thanks chris for your hard work.

Leave a Reply

